Why It’s Okay To Not Know What You’re Doing With Your Life

What should I do with my life

I’m sure many of you reading this will be in the process of doing some kind of exams, whether it’s GCSEs, A Levels or uni exams, I’m sure the pressure is really building.

But today I wanted to write a post to let you know that you’re not alone, and that whatever stress you’re feeling now, it will be okay. I know I’m not in any position to preach about life, I mean, I’ve literally only just turned 19. However, this time last year I was in a similar position. I was just finishing up my A Levels and my plan was to go to uni in September.

But then I got my results, and I massively freaked out about what I wanted to do with my life. All my life, I thought uni was the only option for me, which seemed like the most obvious choice. It wasn’t for me.

I’d always planned to go to uni and study law but when I had to make the decision, I decided that I just couldn’t do it. My biggest fear was disappointing my parents, but I knew ultimately that they just wanted me to be happy, and if that meant me not going to uni then it was okay.

I’ve always had this unbelievable need to please people; I hate disappointing anyone or letting anyone down. But I soon realised that I wasn’t doing that at all by not going to uni. I think I would have let my parents down more if I simply wasn’t happy.

Now, I can safely say that I’m the happiest I’ve ever been. I figured that digital marketing *might* just be the career for me, and I’m thoroughly enjoying pursuing this goal. I’ve got an amazing support network around me, and the most incredible family I could wish for. My boyfriend is the most awesome, supportive, loving person in the whole world and everyday he makes my life better and happier.

So I suppose the point of this post is to tell you that it’s 100% okay to not know what you’re doing with your life. I would have never in a million years guessed that my life would be this way (very tempted to sing that to the Friends’ theme tune…) but I’m SO glad that it turned out the way it did.

If you’re panicking about life and exams and uni at the moment, then really try not to. It’s one of the oldest cliches in the world, but I genuinely believe that everything happens for a reason. If it’s meant to be, it’s meant to be.

55 thoughts on “Why It’s Okay To Not Know What You’re Doing With Your Life

  1. I think this is a really valuable post. As somebody in their early 30’s, who has done GCSE’s, A Levels, started uni,dropped out of uni, had a number of different jobs, been married, nearly divorced and had kids, I can confirm that the whole “knowing what you want to be when you grow up” is a myth. I think if you do have a plan for your life and stick to it, then you’re the exception to the rule. Most of us are just winging it, doing whatever feels right and taking each day as it comes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m 24 and still have no idea what I’m doing with my life! I graduated uni a couple of years ago and then did a diploma in journalism. Since then, I’ve been working part time at the post office and living at home because nowhere else will employ me! I’ve been really pro-active in trying to take my career to the next level but nothing’s paid off yet!

    Sian x
    http://www.theenglisheverygirl.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a 24 year old who had no idea what she’s doing with her life, this post speaks to me more than you will ever know.

    Your so brace not to go to uni! Look how far you’ve come though! Honestly, this post is 100% on the dot.

    Em x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It took me forever to work out what I wanted to do. I was a bit stressed even when I finished uni because I still did not know what I wanted to do. It did all work out though and i wish I didn’t stress about it as much as i did!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post! I’m 25 this year and still have no idea what to do with my life. That’s okay though. When I was at school I had a set plan which didn’t happen unfortunately and I still regret it to this day because it was largely my own fault. You’ve just gotta make the most of what you have right now and roll with it. What you’re supposed to do will find you eventually ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So thankful for getting to read this today. I certainly needed it. I think it’s crazy that all of a sudden, once you hit like 15 years old we’re kind of expected to know exactly what we want to do with our lives, yet we’re still young and growing and figuring out who we are.. like the pressure is unreal sometimes!

    -Courtney
    http://www.thecurlyanomaly.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love these kinds of posts just reassurance that it’s OK to be normal! I’m doing digital marketing too, started off in a placement and now been working there for almost 2 years. How you finding your apprenticeship?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I didn’t know what I was doing until I was about 24… I knew what I wanted to do but wasn’t sure how. Now I am 30… I am not doing exactly what I dreamt of but in the industry and now family is just way more important 🙂 xxxxxx

    lucylovesbeautyxo.com

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This sort of post is really inspiring and positive to others reading it Chloe! Brilliant idea doing something like this, my little brother in law is doing his GCSE’s atm and is slightly struggling to know what he wants to do with his life so I might let him read this! Lots of love to you xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This was a really reassuring post! I’ve completed two degrees now (undergrad and masters) and I’m still not 100% sure of what I want to do with my life – I have narrowed it down quite a bit but I’m still not certain, and that’s ok! Not being a people pleaser and following your heart is such good advice, thank you!

    Abbey 💋 http://www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  11. When I finished my degree I was lost and not sure what I wanted to do – and that was completely fine. I wasn’t alone and other people were in the same position.

    Good luck with everything

    Steph xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m 25 and I still don’t know what I’m doing with my life ha. I had it in my head at 18 that I was going to go to uni, and then do a PGCE to become a teacher. Well I went to uni, and then I graduated, but I decided that teaching just wasn’t for me, and neither was working with kids in general. I’ve now applied to go back to school in September for evening classes for a CIM Level 4 in marketing. Fingers crossed everything works out. And good luck to you in the future ❤

    Lauren | Lauren the Daydreamer

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! It really is so difficult to know what we should be doing but it’s nice to know that we’re not alone 🙂 good luck for your marketing classes! I’m doing digital marketing atm and I absolutely love it xx

      Like

  13. I completely resonate with you about feeling like i don’t know what i want in life. I’m turning 19 in two weeks and like you, i left school last year. I started university this year and didn’t enjoy it at all. I’m due to start a new university to study Marketing this year but i’m still quite apprehensive that i may not enjoy that either – i guess i will have to see! This is such a stressful time in our lives, and i love hearing that other people are in this situation too (although it sucks!) If you don’t mind me asking, how are you looking to get into digital marketing? It’s something that also interests me so i’d love to know 🙂 x

    rosemelodies.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for this lovely comment! I’m doing a digital marketing apprenticeship and I’ve been working there since February. I have a few posts about it on my blog if you want to check them out for more info, let me know if you have any more questions about it. You can email me if you need anymore advice or anything lovely 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

