16 Things To Do With The Kids In The Summer Holidays

Things To Do With The Kids

I spent this weekend babysitting my two younger brothers and one younger sister as my mum and dad were in Greece for a wedding; I definitely drew the short straw there…

So, as I was spending the whole weekend with the delightful little devils, I tried to do things with them that would be entertaining just so they weren’t stuck in the house all weekend. I thought I’d share some fun activities that you could do with your own kids or if you’re babysitting too. Some of these might be more suited to the summer holidays, but most of them you could do on a weekend too.

  1. One of the easiest things that you could do with the kids is to take them to the park, as long as the weather permits. You could pack up a picnic and head to the park for a few hours.
  2. Take them to the swimming baths. Doncaster DomeΒ is not too far away from us and it’s the perfect place to spend a day out with the kids; you could take them swimming and/or ice skating to truly tire them out so that they go to bed early…
  3. It may be a slight gamble, but you could take them to a play area just beware that it’s probably going to be heaving with screaming children…
  4. Spend a day at the beach eating fish and chips and building sandcastles.
  5. If the weather is a bit crap, you could always do some indoor activities. Baking is always a good way to spend the day inside and it’s also something fun for the kids to do.
  6. You could invest in some colouring books and spend a few hours lazily colouring in.
  7. If you have the sort of kids that may enjoy it, then you could take them to a museum. I live in York so there are quite a few places to take the kids, including York Dungeon and York’s Chocolate Story.
  8. Enjoy a day out at a farm and let the kids feed all the animals.
  9. You could have a movie day at home where you just watch Disney films all day.
  10. Go and watch the latest kids’ film at the cinema.
  11. Get competitive and take them bowling and enjoy the arcades.
  12. Play board games all day.
  13. This one might not go down too well but you could have a ‘room tidying’ competition if you need a day of cleaning the house; this is a good way to get the kids involved.
  14. You could get creative and have a day of making collages, scrapbooks and magazines.
  15. Spend hours making things out of Lego or building blocks.
  16. Make a den and have an indoor picnic while watching the best kids’ programmes (including Horrid Henry and Peppa Pig…).

What do you like to do with the kids in the summer holidays or on the weekend? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter @imjustagirl_16.

39 thoughts on “16 Things To Do With The Kids In The Summer Holidays

  1. Did you enjoy the dome? I go to the gym there and there always seems to be an event on. I love this it’s a great way to help people who are going to struggle in the 6 weeks xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haven’t got any children myself, but this took me back to my childhood summers when my family and I used to go to Bournemouth for a few weeks as we had an apartment there and we spend our days eating fish and chips, going to the beach, playing at the arcade, and just playing silly games back at the apartment πŸ™‚

    Lovely post! Izzy | http://www.ADoseOfChatter.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww a trip to Greece sounds amazing, your parents are really lucky! Good on your for taking such good care of your siblings though, I bet they’ve loved all these activities! I used to love baking as a kid, thats a great shout! A beach day is super fun too!

    Abbey πŸ’‹ http://www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There are some great ideas here. My kids love nothing better than a visit to the local park or playground. We have members cards at Chatsworth and Newstead Abbey, beautiful houses near where we live. The girls love going for days there.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent ideas! My lad loves doing most of those. Especially the dens! Picnic in a blanket fort. Also.. he loves the park in the rain… luckily I love the rain too πŸ˜‚ And it’s always empty πŸ‘πŸ» Baking as well! Not my favourite but my lad loves it. So important to do things like this because why should school get all the fun.. I want to play too. Xxxxxx oh yeah and I avoid play areas… they are the worst.. soft play dates *shudder*

    Lucylovesbeautyxo.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually have two little brothers of my own! Often, my parents will ask me to babysit while they go do their own thing as well. When I babysit, I will typically make a little fort with the boys in the living room and play a movie. Sometimes I’ll have them help me make cookies as well. The oldest of the two (he’s 4) will actually come up to me sometimes like “When can we make more chocolate chip cookies?” haha. You’ve definitely given me more idea’s about what to do with them, thank you for sharing!

    -Courtney
    http://www.thecurlyanomaly.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

