The Future Of Design – 3D Printing

I'm Just A Girl Blog

Big Ben and Empire State Building 3D Printed

Today’s post is slightly different from my usual posts but I’m really excited to share it with you so I hope you don’t mind…

When the people at CGTrader got in touch with me and asked if I would like to participate in their ‘design for the future’ blogging contest, I was pretty excited to talk about the world of 3D printing…

If you follow me on Instagram then you may have seen some of the images that I posted of the things that Matt has printed off using his 3D printer.

I’ll be honest, when he first told me that he was purchasing one I literally didn’t see the point. But as soon as he printed the first thing off; I was obsessed. The boat featured below was the first thing that was printed off as it’s supposed to be a sort of ‘initiation’ into the world of 3D printing.

3D printing boat

Since then, Matt has printed numerous models off, including Big Ben, the Empire State Building and the Hungarian Parliament Building. We’re aiming to build a skyline featuring all of the famous landmarks of the places that we’ve been together. I’m still waiting for my trip to Paris so we can print the Eiffel Tower off…

3D printer Wanhao duplicator i3

You can find the 3D printer that Matt has here.

With regards to the future of 3D printing, do I think it will take off? Well, like I said before, I was pretty sceptical at first but after doing some research, (and hearing Matt talk about it so passionately) I’ve come to the conclusion that there may be a future for 3D printing after all.

There are so many endless possibilities of the things that you can print out, not just ‘pretty’ things like buildings and models but practical items too. Matt printed off the wallet below and it’s lasted him such a long time. The design is practical, yet stylish and with a quick spray of shiny black paint, it almost looks like he bought it straight from the shop.

3D printed wallet

One downside to 3D printing that I have discovered is that it can take a little while for things to actually be produced. For example, the Hungarian Parliament Building took eight hours to print off which can be considered to be quite an inconvenience. However, as 3D printing is currently considered more of a hobby than an actual practical activity, it doesn’t make too much difference if you’re printing items off within the confides of your bedroom or study. I think that once 3D printing officially takes off, as technology advances more, then it will be easier and quicker to produce items yourself.

3D printed dog

Matt printed off the dog above and then painted it with white paint to give it a more realistic look; I think it looks so amazing considering it was made at home!

There are many forums where you can find objects to print off such as Thingiverse and 3D Warehouse, but you can also make your own design for a more original spin on things. Personally, I think that 3D printing is an excellent hobby (albeit a potentially slightly expensive one depending on which 3D printer you choose to purchase) and I believe that one day, possibly in the not so distant future, that 3D printing will be something off a norm in many households.

3D printing designs

The ability to produce something so wonderfully creative and quirky in your own home is both equally exciting and practical. Need a last minute Father’s Day gift? Simply print off a wallet for your dad. Has your brother become obsessed with the fidget spinner trend? Just print him one off and put the ball bearings in yourself.

What do you think of 3D printing? Do you think that there’s a future for it? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter @imjustagirl_16.

*This blog post is a part of Design Blogger Competition organised by CGTrader; it is not a sponsored post and all love of 3D printing is entirely my own. You can also purchase 3D printing designs on CGTrader.

 

57 thoughts on “The Future Of Design – 3D Printing

  1. I never realised you could buy them! This is such a cool and creative idea, looks like an amazing hobby. I think it will be cool to see how advanced they become!

    Olivia / Describingolivia.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is amazing! I knew 3D printing existed but I didn’t realise people bought a machine and it was that easy to do yourself, It looks so amazing and really well done! x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can tell I’m getting old. 3D printers make me feel like I’m sure my grandparents felt about CDs. They baffle me. It’s like magic. However, I do think they’re amazing and can’t wait to see how we put this new technology to use. I love your skyline idea. I bet that will look magnificent!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow this is seriously cool!! I can’t believe that your BF made that wallet and that it has lasted him so long, that’s amazing! I imagine that when 3D printing technology improves even more, how long it takes to print something off will be greatly reduced as well! I can’t wait to see how this tech will revolutionise life in years to come, it’s incredible and there are so many possibilities!

    Abbey 💞 http://www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is incredible! I love the idea of printing the famous landmarks you guys have visited. I never really knew much about 3D printing but just seeing what you can create as a hobby is fascinating!

    Chloe x
    thengguidetolondon.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh this looks so cool! I’ve always wanted to try 3d printing, but I don’t know anybody with a printer and I wouldn’t buy one for myself atm (maybe in the future when they are a little cheaper). I love the idea of building a skyline featuring everywhere you have been together, such a cute way to look back on adventures. And good luck in the contest, I got an email about it as well but I don’t really have any interest in design so I’m not entering ha

    Lauren | Lauren the Daydreamer

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Omg! This looks Amazing! It’s so interesting to read about what it can make or completely.

    I absolutely love the little dog! It’s so cute! Looks like you had a great time 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 3D printing is a concept that I am massively interested in. We have just got a 3D printer at the College I work at, and it is perfect for designing and creating amazing things! I would love to design something and have it printed and I am working towards this. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Omg, this is amazing! Of course I’ve been aware of 3D printing and how advanced it’s become but I never actually stopped to think that people are creating things with 3D printers for a hobby, what an exciting thing to do! I’m so intrigued. I’m not really sure how the future holds in terms of 3d printing but I do think there is a market out there for it. It just depends where!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I definitely think that the possibilities for 3D printing are endless and going to be very much present in the future. I would just love to print out presents for people – how useful would that be!

    zotalks.com
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

