Review: My Not So Perfect Life By Sophie Kinsella – AtoZ Day 18

My Not So Perfect Life Sophie Kinsella

Sophie Kinsella has always been my favourite author. Pretty much ever since I could read, I’ve loved her books and I’ve even read some of them multiple times. The Shopaholic series will always hold a special place in my bookshelf as they’re the first series I ever remember reading and absolutely falling in love with (I think I’ve read all the books in the series four times!). She writes in such a way that I just completely immerse myself in the story and they’re always such an enjoyable read.

Her newest book, ‘My Not So Perfect Life’ is no exception. I finished the book within a couple of days and it’s just brilliant; it’s essentially a book of “what ifs?” and I absolutely loved it.

The main character ‘Katie’, or ‘Cat’ as she prefers to be called, reminded me somewhat of the protagonist, (and incidentally my favourite book character EVER) Becky Bloomwood from the Shopaholic series. Her incidents had me genuinely laughing out loud throughout the whole book and I think anyone in or around their twenties will be able to relate to her.

She’s desperate to ‘make it’ in London and puts across this persona to everyone that she really has got it together. By updating her Instagram and *slightly* lying to her friends, she portrays her life as if she’s a glamorous career girl, when in fact she’s still only at the bottom of the career ladder. Her ambition to succeed however, is genuinely inspiring and even though she really does take ‘fake it ’till you make it’ to the next level, Katie (Cat) really is a lovable character.

Have you read any of Sophie Kinsella’s books? Do you love her work as much as I do? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter @imjustagirl_16.

8 thoughts on “Review: My Not So Perfect Life By Sophie Kinsella – AtoZ Day 18

Leave a Reply

