My 19th Birthday- A Weekend In London – AtoZ Day 13


If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram (shameless plug- I’m sorry!) then you’ll know that I spent last weekend in London. Matt surprised me with a trip to the capital for my 19th birthday and when he told me we were going, I couldn’t have been happier! We spent the weekend eating steak, drinking wine and generally being very touristy.

Saturday

We got the train down to Kings Cross at 10am and we arrived just after midday. We walked from Kings Cross to Camden, enjoying a Costa along the way, and we spent a bit of time enjoying the cool art on the side of the shops.

camden town

Camden Lock

We then got the tube to our hotel and quickly got freshened up and then got an Uber into Westminster to get fish and chips! We then had a lovely walk around St James’ Park and ate ice creams; it was so sunny and lovely. I think it was about 22 degrees and I can definitely say I’m more than excited for summer now!

Ice Cream

Buckingham Palace

We then had a mosey around Buckingham Palace and the whole area was crowded with people; it was such a sunny day I don’t think people could resist!

Buckingham palace

Buckingham Palace

At around 5pm we headed over to Oxford Street and had a little (read: long) look around Hamleys toy shop, even though we’re both 19 we thought it’d be a good idea to spend over an hour in a toy shop, and it definitely was! When we came out, the sun was just gradually starting to go down; London looks so beautiful in the sun.

Oxford Street

As the sun was casting beautiful shadows over everything and everyone, we walked back over to Westminster, passed Big Ben and then over the bridge to the London Eye. We intended to go on the London Eye at sunset but the queue was unbelievably long so we decided to book tickets for the following day instead (I would definitely recommend booking in advance and even upgrading to fast track for just £5 extra).

The Horse Guards Parade Westminster

Big Ben

We decided to cross over Waterloo Bridge to find somewhere to eat and we settled on Gourmet Burger Kitchen; it was delicious! After dinner, we got an Uber back to our hotel because it was getting pretty late at that point and we were both so exhausted.

Sunday

On Sunday morning we headed back into Westminster for breakfast then we walked over to Trafalgar Square and then over to Piccadilly Circus where we went to Ripley’s Believe It Or Not; we actually managed to get tickets from Buyagift.co.uk for half price! There were so many weird and wonderful things in there; my favourites were the mirror maze and the world’s tallest man.

ripleys believe it or not

After Ripley’s we headed over to Carnaby Street where we looked in a number of shops, including the Pixi store where I finally jumped on the bandwagon and bought the Pixi and Caroline Hirons Double Cleanse. After enjoying a great number of shops, we went to Flat Iron where we had delicious steak and chips. There are a number of these restaurants dotted all over London but we went to the Carnaby Street one. Although the food was great I wasn’t the biggest fan of the seating; you’re sat on a bench of six people directly next to each other so it definitely wasn’t the most intimate setting, but it was perfect for amazing steak!

Flat Iron

Flat Iron

After lunch we made our way over to Harrods to have a look at all the pretty clothes and shoes, and I basically dragged Matt to the Christian Louboutin area where I could have spent all day admiring the shoes. We spent just over an hour in Harrods and then we went over the road to Caffé Concerto where we indulged in a delicious hot chocolate before sitting in Hyde Park for a while and enjoying the sun. There were so many people there eating and drinking and it was such a lovely atmosphere. London Mayfair

We enjoyed a leisurely walk back over to the London Eye and we got on just in time for sunset. It was one of my favourites parts of our trip, particularly because London looked so gorgeous at sunset. You can really see so much of London from the very top of the Eye, including The Shard, Big Ben and various other wonderful sights.

Big Ben

London Eye

London Eye

We had dinner at Bella Italia and then got an Uber back to our hotel.

Monday- My Birthday!

It felt extremely weird to be waking up in a hotel in London on my birthday, especially as I had never woken up anywhere other than home before on my birthday! It was so lovely though, and as it was my first birthday since Matt and I had been together, I knew it was going to be special.

We got up and ready and then jumped in an Uber to The Shard, we were going to go up it but considering we’d been on the London Eye the night before, we decided against it.

The Shard

We spent a while leisurely walking over Tower Bridge and admiring the views, and even though the sun was shining, it was much colder than the previous days. We also enjoyed a McDonald’s lunch and a mosey around St Paul’s Cathedral before heading to the British Museum and the British Library. They were both so interesting to see and I felt like a true grown up attending a museum on my birthday!

Tower Bridge

St Paul's Cathedral

As it was my birthday we decided to go for a nice meal before we got the train home so we settled on a restaurant called Rotunda located in Kings Cross. I had an amazingly cooked steak and Matt had a burger. It was such a lovely way to end our time in London.

Rotunda steak

I also just want to quickly say thank you to everyone who wished me happy birthday and especially to Matt who made my birthday so incredibly special, he really is the best.

33 thoughts on “My 19th Birthday- A Weekend In London – AtoZ Day 13

  1. I’m heading to London next week and this is making me even more excited! Awesome pictures and sounds like you had an amazing timamazing. And happy belated birthday 🎉

    Kirsty | The Monday Project | themondayproject.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well you were a right couple of tourists werent you hahaha. London is so close to my heart and sometimes I miss it but I always get to go back! x
    Lola Mia // ww.lolitabonita.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You sound like you had an absolutely amazing trip! You did so much in the amount of time you were there! I’ve done the London Eye before and really enjoyed it and I too have spent hours in hamleys so I don’t blame you!
    I love your photos, they’re amazing!
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy belated birthday! Love the photos, especially that shot taken from the London Eye, so pretty! Even though I live in London, I love all the touristy spots and it always gives me a new appreciation for it when others write about their London experience. Glad you had such a lovely time x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

