Katie: A Letter To My Younger Sister – AtoZ Day 11

A letter to my younger sister

Today’s post is *slightly* more serious than normal, in that it involves me being quite deep about stuff. My little sister (Katie) will be going up to “Big School” in September and today I wanted to write her a sort of letter telling her about my school experience and basically how I want hers to be different.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t have a bad time at school at all. I was never bullied, I always (pretty much) had great friends and I always enjoyed learning. However, despite all that, I still didn’t enjoy school. It just wasn’t for me; I loved learning about new things but I didn’t particularly like the school environment and I didn’t particularly like the majority of people there. I’ve put together a sort of list for my sister of things that she should keep in mind when going up to “Big School”.

Dear Katie,

  1. I hate to break it to you but unfortunately you’re not going to be friends with the people that you’re moving up to secondary school with forever. Some of them will turn out to be absolute idiots.
  2. Don’t be afraid to try new things.
  3. Although, it’s equally important to not succumb to peer pressure and don’t ever do anything that you’re not comfortable with.
  4. Go out. Go out and see your friends. Make sure your homework is done, but always make sure that you have an active social life.
  5. It’s okay to be the teacher’s pet- it just means that you’re smart and know what you’re talking about.
  6. Don’t suffer bullies.
  7. If you don’t like someone, you don’t have to be friends with them, just walk away.
  8. Your exams aren’t the be all and end all. Sure, they’re extremely important and you should always try your best but don’t ever put too much pressure on yourself.
  9. Boys can be so unbelievably frustrating.
  10. Always stand up for yourself, and if not, I’ll come and kick some arse for you!
  11. There’s always going to be someone who thinks they’re prettier or smarter or funnier than you. They might be- but don’t let them boss you around or make you feel inferior.
  12. The pretty, popular girls have issues too, just be nice to them and hopefully they’ll be nice to you.
  13. People will inevitably talk about you behind your back, you just have to learn to ignore them.
  14. Similarly, people will say mean things simply because they’re jealous a lot of the time.

But despite all that, I met Matt at school and I did very well in my exams, so it wasn’t actually all bad. Enjoy Katie!

Leave a Reply

